Since the presentation of its first concerts in 1977, Concerts Lachine non-profit organisation’s mandate is to promote classical music and produce high quality classical music events. It succeeds in its mission of making classical music accessible to the public through the excellence of its programming and in presenting artists of national and international renown as well as the emerging generation of Canadian artists. Recognised for these efforts of cultural democratisation and mediation, Concerts Lachine facilitates access to its concerts by offering almost all of them free of charge or, as in the case of the Notes et Brioches concerts, at a purely symbolic cost.
The administration of the organisation is assured by a distinguished board of directors comprising well-regarded and well-known Lachine personalities including Mr. Noel Spinelli, one of the original co-founders of the organisation. His initial project quickly became reality thanks to the support of Lachine’s mayor at the time, Mr. Guy Descary. Widely recognised and regarded as a visionary and cultural innovator, Mr. Descary supported Mr. Spinelli’s initiative with the generosity that was typical of the man.
The internationally renowned baritone, Robert Savoie became not only the city of Lachine’s first Artistic Director but the first Artistic Director of Concerts Lachine, a position he held for twenty years. On his retirement, he was succeeded by Richard Turp who has been the Lachine Music Festival’s Artistic Director since 1997. Since 2002, Yves Garand is responsible for the programming of the Saints-Anges en musique series.
Since its creation, Concerts Lachine has presented well over 500 concerts that have featured over 3 500 artists and musicians. On average, the concerts attract well over 4 000 people annually.
Richard Turp, artistic director
Yves Garand, program director – Les Saints-Anges en musique
Marie-Claude Prévost, president
Christiane Desrosiers, secretary
Valérie Léger, treasurer
Ron Nichol, administrator
Phillipe Doyon-Poulin, administrator
Noël Spinelli, honorary administrator
Élaine Angers
Norman Atkinson
Gilles Beauregard
Renée Boivin
Anne-R. Bibeau
Louise Boudreau-Bibeau
Caroline Cormier
Suzanne Durocher
Huguette Gagnon
Lucie Hallé
Louis Huot
Louise Hurtubise
Yves Jodoin
Andrew Kokus
Pierre Lacombe
Claudette Levasseur
Isabelle Morin
David Moscovitch
Suzanne Paradis
Ken Paul
Michelle Porracio
France St-Pierre
Lise Rémillard
Daniel Spooner
Joëlle Spooner
Thierry Spooner
Francine Tremblay
Lily Vallières
Elena Varalta