Noémie Raymond-Friset and Zhenni Li-Cohen

Event details

  • 17 July 2022
  • 15:00
  • L’Entrepôt 2901 Bd Saint-Joseph Lachine, QC H8S 4B7
  • Free admission (ticket required) | Suggested donation: 10$

Discover two gifted, young artists interpret two immense sonatas for cello and piano by Rachmaninov and Rebecca Clarke. 

 

This concert is presented in person.

  • A ticket (free) is required to access the concert
  • Suggested donation : 10$ – Make a donation 
  • Tickets available online right now
  • Tickets also available at the door before each concert (60+ tickets)

Presented by 

  • Talk: Cognitive
  • Concert: Cognitive

TICKETS

 

Biographies

NOÉMIE RAYMOND-FRISET  

One of the most promising Canadian cellists of her generation, Noémie is one of CBC Music’s “30 Hot Canadian Classical Musicians under 30” 2018 edition. She is a passionate musician, praised for her sensitive and refined playing. Noémie made her debut at the Royal Albert Hall in London in December 2016 and was also the winner of the 2018 International Stepping Stone, the Canimex Canadian Music Competition, the Edwin H. and Leigh W. Schadt String International Competition and the WAMSO Young Artist Competition, where she was awarded for her outstanding performances. At the Prix d’Europe 2017, she received the Prix Beatrice-Kennedy-Bourbeau for the best interpretation of a work, all genres and instruments combined, and previously received the Prix Guy Soucie for the best interpretation of a Canadian work.

Artistic director of the Eastman Cello Ensemble, Noémie is very active in the musical community. She toured Cambodia in December 2019, in a quartet with, among others, violinist Midori, as part of the ICEP Music Sharing program. She has taken part in the most recent tours of the Heifetz International Music Institute and was most recently artist-in-residence there. She has been heard several times on Performance Today, the popular classical music radio show in New York, and she has also been invited by the Musical Corporation of Viña del Mar, where she performed in La Calera (Chile) as part of an introductory program to classical music for young students. Noémie was also a guest artist at the XVIII Festival Internacional de Musica de Camara in Lima (Peru). In Quebec, it has been heard, among others, at the Montreal Chamber Music Festival, the Lanaudière International Festival, the Orford International Music Festival as part of the Déjeuners-concerts as well as at the Festival Les Concerts of the Chapel. In June 2016, she recorded Prokofiev’s Sonata for Cello and Piano for Radio-Canada with pianist Lysandre Ménard.

As a soloist, she has been invited to perform with the National Arts Center Orchestra, the Orchester symphonique de Longueuil, the Orchester de la Francophonie, the Carlos Costa Chamber Orchestra, the Agora, the Montérégie Youth Orchestra and the Orchester du Conservatoire de musique de Montréal.
Noémie currently plays on the magnificent “Ex-Curtis” cello by Matteo Goffriller (1700), graciously made available to her by Canimex Inc., Drummondville, Qc. She also has a Jean-Dominique Adam bow dating from 1835.

 


ZHENNI LI-COHEN 

Her passionate performances and riveting presence have brought audiences to their feet around the world. Ms. Li-Cohen has performed in such notable venues as Carnegie Hall, Lincoln Center’s Alice Tully Hall, Merkin Concert Hall, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, WQXR’s Greene Space in New York, Philadelphia’s Kimmel Performing Arts Center, the Helsinki Music Centre in Finland, the Grieghallen in Norway, and the Berliner Philharmonie in Germany. As a soloist, she appeared with the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra in Norway, the National Symphony Orchestra of the Dominican Republic, and the Fairbanks, Knoxville, Bucks County, Johns Hopkins and Waterloo-Cedar Falls Symphony Orchestras among others. She holds degrees from The Juilliard School, Yale School of Music and McGill University. Zhenni Li-Cohen is a Steinway Artist.

 

 

Program

Sonate pour violoncelle et piano (1919)
– Impetuoso
– Vivace
– Adagio – Allegro

Rebecca Clarke
                                 (1886 – 1979)


Sonate pour violoncelle et piano (1901)
– Largo
– Allegro moderato               
– Allegro scherzando
 – Andante
 – Allegro mosso


Serguei Rachmaninov
                    (1873- 1943)

Noémie plays on the magnificent “Ex-Curtis” cello by Matteo Goffriller (1700), graciously made available to her by Canimex Inc., Drummondville, QC.

 

 

Thank you to all our sponsors 

PUBLIC PARTNERS

 
Conseil des arts de Montréal
Arrondissement Lachine
Enrico Ciccone, député de Marquette
Bingo Lachine
 

SEASON SPONSORS – GOLD

 
Collégial international Sainte-Anne
Desjardins Caisse de Lachine
Spinelli
 

SEASON SPONSORS – SILVER

 
Piano Vertu
Fondation Azrieli – Azrieli Foundation
Atelier lyrique de l’Opéra de Montréal
Fondation JM Canada
PME MTL West-Island
 

SEASON SPONSORS – BRONZE 

 
CabinetDentaire.ca
Cognitive Group
Smash Marketing & Communications
 

CONCERT SPONSORS 

 
MLV Immobilier
Jean Coutu Aboud Georges
Rona Lachine
J.J. Cardinal Lachine
IGA Extra Vallée
Martin & Cie, comptables professionnels agréés
Centre visuel Victoria

Noémie Raymond-Friset et Zhenni Li-Cohen

Détails de l'événement

  • 17 juillet 2022
  • 15:00
  • L’Entrepôt 2901 Bd Saint-Joseph Lachine, QC H8S 4B7
  • Entrée gratuite (billet requis) | Don suggéré : 10$

Découvrez deux immenses sonates pour violoncelle et piano de Rachmaninov et de Rebecca Clarke offertes par deux jeunes interprètes à retenir.

Ce concert est présenté en salle.

  • Un billet (gratuit) est obligatoire pour accéder au concert
  • Don suggéré : 10$
  • Billets disponibles en ligne dès maintenant
  • Billets aussi disponibles à la porte 1h00 avant chaque concert (60 billets et +)

Présentateur 

  • Causerie: Cognitive
  • Concert:  Cognitive

 

OBTENIR DES BILLETS

Biographies

NOÉMIE RAYMOND-FRISET  

Violoncelliste canadienne parmi les plus prometteuses de sa génération, Noémie est l’une des « 30 Hot Canadian Classical Musicians under 30 » édition 2018 de CBC Music. Elle est une musicienne passionnée, louée pour son jeu sensible et raffiné. Noémie a fait ses débuts au Royal Albert Hall de Londres en décembre 2016 et a été également lauréate du Tremplin International 2018, du Concours de musique du Canada Canimex, de la Edwin H. and Leigh W. Schadt String International Competition et de la WAMSO Young Artist Competition, où elle a été récompensée pour ses performances exceptionnelles. Au Prix d’Europe 2017, elle recevait le Prix Beatrice-Kennedy-Bourbeau pour la meilleure interprétation d’une œuvre, tous genres et instruments confondus, et y recevait précédemment le Prix Guy Soucie pour la meilleure interprétation d’une œuvre canadienne.

Directrice artistique de l’Eastman Cello Ensemble, Noémie est très active dans la communauté musicale. Elle a fait une tournée au Cambodge en décembre 2019, en quatuor avec, entre autres, la violoniste Midori, dans le cadre du programme ICEP Music Sharing. Elle a pris part aux plus récentes tournées du Heifetz International Music Institute et y était récemment artiste en résidence. On l’a entendue à plusieurs reprises à Performance Today, la populaire émission radiophonique de musique classique de New York, et elle a également été invitée par la Corporation Musicale de Viña del Mar, où elle s’est produite à La Calera (Chili) dans le cadre d’un programme d’introduction à la musique classique auprès de jeunes étudiants. Noémie a également été artiste invitée au XVIII Festival Internacional de Musica de Camara à Lima (Pérou). Au Québec, on a pu l’entendre, entre autres, au Festival de musique de chambre de Montréal, au Festival international de Lanaudière, au Festival international de Musique d’Orford dans le cadre des Déjeuners-concerts ainsi qu’au Festival Les Concerts de la Chapelle. En juin 2016, elle enregistrait la Sonate pour violoncelle et piano de Prokofiev pour Radio-Canada avec la pianiste Lysandre Ménard.

Comme soliste, elle a été invitée à s’exécuter avec l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts, l’Orchestre symphonique de Longueuil, l’Orchestre de la Francophonie, l’Orchestre de Chambre Carlos Costa, l’Orchestre symphonique de l’Agora, l’Orchestre des jeunes de la Montérégie ainsi que l’Orchestre du Conservatoire de musique de Montréal.

Noémie joue présentement sur le magnifique violoncelle « Ex-Curtis » de Matteo Goffriller (1700), gracieusement mis à sa disposition par Canimex Inc., Drummondville, Qc. Elle possède également un archet Jean-Dominique Adam datant de 1835.

ZHENNI LI-COHEN 

Ses performances passionnées et sa présence fascinante ont fait se lever le public du monde entier. Mme Li-Cohen s’est produite dans des lieux remarquables tels que le Carnegie Hall, le Alice Tully Hall du Lincoln Center, le Merkin Concert Hall, le Metropolitan Museum of Art, le Greene Space du WQXR à New York, le Kimmel Performing Arts Center de Philadelphie, le Helsinki Music Center en Berliner Philharmonie Finlande, les Grieghallen en Norvège et la Berliner Philharmonie en Allemagne. En tant que soliste, elle s’est produite avec l’Orchestre philharmonique de Bergen en Norvège, l’Orchestre symphonique national de la République dominicaine et les orchestres symphoniques de Fairbanks, Knoxville, Bucks County, Johns Hopkins et Waterloo-Cedar Falls, entre autres. Elle détient des diplômes de la Juilliard School, de la Yale School of Music et de l’Université McGill. Zhenni Li-Cohen est une artiste Steinway.

 

 

Programme

Sonate pour violoncelle et piano (1919)
– Impetuoso
– Vivace
– Adagio – Allegro

Rebecca Clarke
(1886 – 1979)

Sonate pour violoncelle et piano (1901)
– Largo
– Allegro moderato
– Allegro scherzando
– Andante
– Allegro mosso

Serguei Rachmaninov
                    (1873- 1943)

Noémie joue sur le magnifique violoncelle « Ex-Curtis » de Matteo Goffriler (1700), gracieusement mis à sa disposition par Canimex Inc., Drummondville, QC.


Merci à tous nos commanditaires

Subventions

 
Conseil des arts de Montréal
Arrondissement Lachine
Enrico Ciccone, député de Marquette
Bingo Lachine
 

Commanditaires de saison or

 
Collégial international Sainte-Anne
Desjardins Caisse de Lachine
Spinelli
 


Commanditaires de saison argent

 
Piano Vertu
Fondation Azrieli – Azrieli Foundation
Atelier lyrique de l’Opéra de Montréal
Fondation JM Canada
PME MTL West-Island
 

Commanditaires de saison bronze

 
CabinetDentaire.ca
Cognitive Group
Smash Marketing & Communications
 

Commanditaires de concert

 
MLV Immobilier
Jean Coutu Aboud Georges
Rona Lachine
J.J. Cardinal Lachine
IGA Extra Vallée
Martin & Cie, comptables professionnels agréés
Centre visuel Victoria