Basta Parlare: Marie Nadeau-Tremblay and friends

Event details

  • 11 July 2022
  • 19:30
  • L’Entrepôt 2901 Bd Saint-Joseph Lachine, QC H8S 4B7
  • Free admission (ticket required) | Suggested donation: 10$

Jewels of Italian baroque music performed by the violinist, Marie Nadeau-Tremblay, Révélation Radio-Canada 2022 and four colleagues.

This concert is presented in person.

  • A ticket (free) is required to access the concert
  • Suggested donation : 10$ – Make a donatio
  • Tickets available online right now
  • Tickets also available at the door before each concert (60+ tickets)

Tickets

 

Program

Sonata Decima (ré mineur)
All

Dario Castello
1602 – 1631

Sonata la Cornara (ré mineur)
Violin, recorder, harpsichord, organ, viola

Giovanni Legrenzi
1626 – 1690

Canzon Sestadecima a 4 (sol mineur)
Violin, recorder, organ

Giovanni Battista Grillo
? – 1622

La Valcharenga (do majeur)
Violin, recorder, harp, harpsichord, viola

Tarquinio Merula
1595 – 1665

Sonata Quarta (la mineur)
Violin, harp, organ

Biagio Marini
1594 – 1663

Improvisation violin (la mineur -> ré)

La Cavagliera (ré mineur/majeur)
All

Tarquinio Merula
1595 – 1665

Sonata Sopra la Monica (ré mineur)
Violin, recorder, harpsichord, harp

Biagio Marini
1594 – 1663

Vestiva i colli (ré mineur)
Recorder, organ

Francesco Rognoni
? – 1626(?)

Improvisation orgue (ré mineur -> la mineur)
Album only

Sonata Duodecima (la mineur)
All

Dario Castello
1602 – 1631

La Pusterla (do majeur)
Violon, recorder, harp, harpsichord, viola

Tarquinio Merula
1595 – 1665

Sonata Quarta (ré mineur)
All

Dario Castello
1602 – 1631

 

 

Biographies

VINCENT LAUZIER
Recorder

Named Radio-Canada Revelation 2013-2014 and Discovery of the Year at the 2012 Opus Awards Gala, recorder player Vincent Lauzer is artistic director of the Lamèque International Baroque Music Festival in New Brunswick. His recording of Vivaldi concertos with Arion Orchester Baroque won, in October 2018, a Diapason d’or awarded by the French magazine Diapason. Winner of numerous first prizes in national and international competitions, he won the 2015 Fernand-Lindsay Career Scholarship and, in 2012, he won the first prize at the Tremplin of the Canadian Music Competition as well as the Career Development Award from the Women’s Musical. Club of Toronto. A versatile performer, he has performed with Flute So!, Les Songes, Les Violons du Roy, the Pacific Baroque Orchestra, La Bande Montréal Baroque, Les Idées Heureuses, Arion Orchester Baroque and La Cigale. He has performed in several major series and festivals in Canada and the United States, as well as in Mexico, France, Germany, Spain and Belgium.

 

MARIE NADEAU-TREMBLAY
Baroque violin

During her last bachelor session in violin performance at McGill University, Marie Nadeau-Tremblay decided to explore the world of baroque music by joining the Baroque Orchestra of this university. It’s love at first sight ! She decides to immerse herself body and soul in this musical universe which transports her by its beauty and which offers her a mode of expression in tune with her sensitivity. She first obtained a bachelor’s degree, then a master’s degree in early music. The recipient of numerous awards and scholarships from McGill University, including the prestigious Mary McLaughlin Prize, which she won four years in a row, Marie Nadeau-Tremblay was awarded a scholarship from the organization Early Music America in 2017. More recently, in In 2019, she appeared four times on the honor roll of the Mathieu Duguay International Early Music Competition, winning first prize among others. Named Radio Canada Classical Revelation 2021-2022 and winner of the Opus prize for discovery of the year, Marie is also the recipient of the Choquette Symcox prize from the Jeunesses Musicales of Canada. His album La Peste (2020) earned nominations for the Junos and Opus awards. Her most recent album, Preludes and Solitudes (2021), has been warmly received by critics, both CBC and Early Music America. Apart from music, Marie is very fond of writing, drawing and studying Mandarin Chinese. She hates cilantro.

 

TRISTAN BEST
Viola da Gamba

Tristan Best is a gambist from New York and Nova Scotia. His love of early music led him to Montreal in 2016 to study the viola da gamba at McGill University, from where he obtained a bachelor’s degree, then a master’s degree under the tutelage of Betsy MacMillan and Elin Soderstrom. Tristan often performs with various Montreal ensembles, including the Méandres and Barocudas ensembles. He has participated in several festivals and concert series, including the Montreal Baroque Festival, the Oasis Musicale and the Amherst Early Music Festival. Besides the bass, tenor and treble viola da gamba, Tristan also plays the lirone. His research on these instruments led him to discover various repertoires and to explore historical methods of improvisation.

 

ANTOINE MALETTE-CHÉNIER
Baroque harp

A creative and innovative harpist, Antoine Malette-Chénier plays a repertoire ranging from the Renaissance and the Baroque, on period instruments, to contemporary music. Described as a “brilliant soloist” and sought after for his versatility, he is principal harp of the Orchester symphonique de Trois-Rivières and has played with several ensembles in Canada, France and the United States, including the Orchester symphonique de Montréal , the Violons du Roy, the New Modern Ensemble and La Nef.

Antoine is the recipient of the 2014 Michael Measures Prize from the Canada Council for the Arts, a 1st Prize at the 2013 OSM Standard Life Competition, three 1st places at the Canadian Music Competition and two grants from the National Arts Center Orchestra. . Winner of many concerto competitions, he has appeared as a soloist with orchestra in Canada, the United States, France and Hungary. He won the “Prize for the best interpretation of a work, all styles combined” at the Prix d’Europe 2012 Competition as well as a 2nd prize in 2017.

Recipient of the 2014 Michael Measures Prize from the Canada Council for the Arts and a 1st Prize at the 2013 OSM Standard Life Competition, Antoine is a graduate of the Yale School of Music, Mcgill University, Université de Montréal and the Conservatoire of music from Trois-Rivières. He also holds a master’s degree in historical harps from the National Conservatory of Music and Dance in Lyon.

 

HANK KNOX
Harpsichord

Recognized internationally for his “dynamic and colorful performances”, harpsichordist Hank Knox performs in concert halls, churches, museums, art galleries and private residences around the world. A founding member of Arion Orchester Baroque, he has toured Europe, Japan and North and South America, then he has performed and recorded with Tafelmusik, Les Violons du Roy and the Orchester symphonique de Montréal. He has to his credit several recordings – all praised – on very rare period instruments as well as replicas of historical instruments in programs devoted to Scarlatti, Bach, Handel, Frescobaldi, Geminiani and others. He teaches harpsichord at McGill University. He conducts the McGill Baroque Orchestra and conducts baroque operas, most recently Dido and Aeneas by Purcell, Poppea by Monteverdi, and Rodelinda, Giulio Cesare, Agrippina, Alcina and Rinaldo by Handel.

 

 

Thank you to all our sponsors 

PUBLIC PARTNERS

 
Conseil des arts de Montréal
Arrondissement Lachine
Enrico Ciccone, député de Marquette
Bingo Lachine
 

SEASON SPONSORS – GOLD

 
Collégial international Sainte-Anne
Desjardins Caisse de Lachine
Spinelli
 

SEASON SPONSORS – SILVER

 
Piano Vertu
Fondation Azrieli – Azrieli Foundation
Atelier lyrique de l’Opéra de Montréal
Fondation JM Canada
PME MTL West-Island
 

SEASON SPONSORS – BRONZE 

 
CabinetDentaire.ca
Cognitive Group
Smash Marketing & Communications
 

CONCERT SPONSORS 

 
MLV Immobilier
Jean Coutu Aboud Georges
Rona Lachine
J.J. Cardinal Lachine
IGA Extra Vallée
Martin & Cie, comptables professionnels agréés
Centre visuel Victoria

Basta Parlare : Marie Nadeau-Tremblay et ses amis

Détails de l'événement

  • 11 juillet 2022
  • 19:30
  • L’Entrepôt 2901 Bd Saint-Joseph Lachine, QC H8S 4B7
  • Entrée gratuite (billet requis) | Don suggéré : 10$

Des bijoux du répertoire de la musique baroque italienne mettant en vedette la Révélation Radio-Canada 2022, la violoniste Marie Nadeau-Tremblay et quatre collègues.

 

Ce concert est présenté en salle.

  • Un billet (gratuit) est obligatoire pour accéder au concert
  • Don suggéré : 10$ – Faire un don
  • Billets disponibles en ligne dès maintenant
  • Billets aussi disponibles à la porte 1h00 avant chaque concert (60 billets et +)

 

OBTENIR DES BILLETS

 

 

Programme

Sonata Decima (ré mineur) 
Tous

Dario Castello
1602 – 1631

Sonata la Cornara (ré mineur)
violon, flûte, clavecin, orgue, viole

Giovanni Legrenzi
1626 – 1690

Canzon Sestadecima a 4 (sol mineur)
violon, flûte, orgue

Giovanni Battista Grillo
? – 1622

La Valcharenga (do majeur)
violon, flûte, harpe, clavecin, viole

Tarquinio Merula
1595 – 1665

Sonata Quarta (la mineur)
violon, harpe, orgue

Biagio Marini
1594 – 1663

 

Improvisation violin (la mineur -> ré)



 

La Cavagliera (ré mineur/majeur)
tous

Tarquinio Merula
1595 – 1665

Sonata Sopra la Monica (ré mineur)
violon, flûte, clavecin, harpe

Biagio Marini
1594 – 1663

Vestiva i colli (ré mineur)
flûte, orgue

Francesco Rognoni
? – 1626(?)

Improvisation orgue (ré mineur -> la mineur)
album seulement

 

Sonata Duodecima (la mineur)
tous

Dario Castello
1602 – 1631

La Pusterla (do majeur)
violon, flûte, harpe, clavecin, viole

Tarquinio Merula
1595 – 1665

Sonata Quarta (ré mineur)
tous

Dario Castello
1602 – 1631

 

 

Biographie

VINCENT LAUZIER
Flûte à bec

Nommé Révélation Radio-Canada 2013-2014 et Découverte de l’année au Gala des Prix Opus 2012, le flûtiste à bec Vincent Lauzer est directeur artistique du Festival international de musique baroque de Lamèque, au Nouveau-Brunswick. Son enregistrement des concertos de Vivaldi avec Arion Orchestre Baroque s’est mérité, en octobre 2018, un Diapason d’or décerné par le magazine français Diapason. Lauréat de nombreux premiers prix lors de concours nationaux et internationaux, il se mérite la bourse de carrière Fernand-Lindsay 2015 et, en 2012, il remporte le premier prix du Tremplin du Concours de musique du Canada ainsi que le Career Development Award du Women’s Musical Club of Toronto. Interprète polyvalent, il se produit avec Flûte Alors!, Les Songes, Les Violons du Roy, le Pacific Baroque Orchestra, La Bande Montréal Baroque, Les Idées Heureuses, Arion Orchestre Baroque et La Cigale. Il a joué dans plusieurs séries et festivals d’envergure au Canada et aux États-Unis, de même qu’au Mexique, en France, en Allemagne, en Espagne et en Belgique.

 

 

MARIE NADEAU-TREMBLAY
Violon baroque

Au cours de sa dernière session de baccalauréat en interprétation au violon à l’Université McGill, Marie Nadeau-Tremblay décide d’explorer le monde de la musique baroque en se joignant à l’Orchestre baroque de cette université. C’est le coup de foudre ! Elle décide de se plonger corps et âme dans cet univers musical qui la transporte par sa beauté et qui lui offre un mode d’expression accordé à sa sensibilité. Elle obtient d’abord une licence, puis une maîtrise en musique ancienne. Récipiendaire de nombreux prix et bourses de l’Université McGill, dont le prestigieux prix Mary McLaughlin qu’elle obtient quatre années de suite, Marie Nadeau-Tremblay se voit attribuer une bourse de l’organisation Early Music America en 2017. Plus récemment, en 2019, elle figure quatre fois au tableau d’honneur du Concours international de musique ancienne Mathieu Duguay, remportant entre autres le premier prix. Nommée Révélation Classique Radio Canada 2021-2022 et gagnante du prix Opus pour la découverte de l’année, Marie est aussi récipiendaire du prix Choquette Symcox des Jeunesses Musicales du Canada. Son album La Peste (2020) est s’est mérité des nominations aux prix Junos et Opus. Son plus récent album, Préludes et Solitudes (2021), a été chaleureusement accueilli par les critiques, tant par la CBC que par Early Music America.  Outre la musique, Marie aime beaucoup écrire, dessiner et étudier le chinois mandarin. Elle déteste la coriandre.   

 

 

TRISTAN BEST
Viole de Gambe

Tristan Best est un gambiste originaire de New York et de la Nouvelle Écosse. Son amour de la musique ancienne le mène à Montréal en 2016 pour l’etude de la viole de gambe à l’université McGill, d’ou il obtient un baccalauréat, puis une maîtrise sous la tutelle de Betsy MacMillan et d’Elin Soderstrom. Tristan se produit souvent avec diverses ensembles Montréalais, dont l’ensemble les Méandres et les Barocudas. Il a participé à plusieurs festivals et séries de concerts, dont le festival Montréal Baroque, l’Oasis Musicale et le Amherst Early Music Festival. Outre la viole de gambe basse, ténor et dessus, Tristan joue aussi du lirone. Ses recherches sur ces instruments le mènent à découvrir diverses répertoires et à explorer des méthodes historiques d’improvisation.

 

 

ANTOINE MALETTE-CHÉNIER
Harpe baroque

Harpiste créatif et innovateur, Antoine Malette-Chénier joue un répertoire s’étendant de la Renaissance et du baroque, sur instruments d’époque, à la musique contemporaine. Décrit comme un « soliste brillant » et recherché pour sa polyvalence, il est harpe solo de l’Orchestre symphonique de Trois-Rivières et a joué avec plusieurs ensembles au Canada, en France et aux États-Unis, dont l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, les Violons du Roy, le Nouvel Ensemble Moderne et La Nef.

Antoine est récipiendaire du Prix Michael Measures 2014 du Conseil des arts du Canada, d’un 1er Prix au Concours OSM Standard Life 2013, de trois 1res places au Concours de musique du Canada et de deux bourses de l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts. Gagnant de maints concours de concerto, il s’est produit comme soliste avec orchestre au Canada, aux États-Unis, en France et en Hongrie. Il a remporté le «Prix pour la meilleure interprétation d’une oeuvre, tous styles confondus» lors du Concours Prix d’Europe 2012 ainsi qu’un 2e prix en 2017.

Récipiendaire du Prix Michael Measures 2014 du Conseil des arts du Canada et d’un 1er Prix au Concours OSM Standard Life 2013, Antoine est diplômé de la Yale School of Music, de l’Université Mcgill, de  l’Université de Montréal et du Conservatoire de musique de Trois-Rivières. Il détient aussi une maitrise en harpes historiques du Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique et de Danse de Lyon.

 

 

HANK KNOX
Clavecin

Reconnu internationalement pour ses « prestations dynamiques et hautes en couleur », le claveciniste Hank Knox se produit dans les salles de concert, les églises, les musées, les galeries d’art et les résidences privées un peu partout sur le globe. Membre fondateur d’Arion Orchestre Baroque, il a effectué des tournées en Europe, au Japon et en Amériques du Nord et du Sud, puis il a joué et enregistré avec Tafelmusik, Les Violons du Roy et l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal. Il compte à son actif plusieurs enregistrements – tous louangés – sur de très rares instruments d’époque ainsi que des répliques d’instruments historiques dans des programmes consacrés à Scarlatti, Bach, Handel, Frescobaldi, Geminiani et d’autres. Il enseigne le clavecin à l’Université McGill. Il est à la tête de l’Orchestre baroque de McGill et il dirige des opéras baroques, récemment Didon et Énée de Purcell, Poppea de Monteverdi ainsi que Rodelinda, Giulio Cesare, Agrippina, Alcina et Rinaldo de Haendel.

 


Merci à tous nos commanditaires

Subventions

 
Conseil des arts de Montréal
Arrondissement Lachine
Enrico Ciccone, député de Marquette
Bingo Lachine
 

Commanditaires de saison or

 
Collégial international Sainte-Anne
Desjardins Caisse de Lachine
Spinelli
 

 

Commanditaires de saison argent

 
Piano Vertu
Fondation Azrieli – Azrieli Foundation
Atelier lyrique de l’Opéra de Montréal
Fondation JM Canada
PME MTL West-Island
 

Commanditaires de saison bronze

 
CabinetDentaire.ca
Cognitive Group
Smash Marketing & Communications
 

Commanditaires de concert

 
MLV Immobilier
Jean Coutu Aboud Georges
Rona Lachine
J.J. Cardinal Lachine
IGA Extra Vallée
Martin & Cie, comptables professionnels agréés
Centre visuel Victoria