Ensemble Caprice and Ensemble vocal Arts-Québec

Event details

  • 8 July 2022
  • 19:30
  • Église St-Anges 1400 Bd Saint-Joseph Lachine, QC H8S 2M8
  • Free admission (NO ticket required) | Suggested donation: 10$

A fabulous choral concert featuring masterpieces by Monteverdi, Carissimi et Chiara Margarita Cozzolani.  

This concert is presented in person at the Saints-Anges Church

  • No tickets are required for this concert at the church
  • Suggested donation : 10$  Donate

Presented by

  • Talk: Spinelli
  • Concert: Spinelli

Program

I
Mariea Chiara Cozzolani
Deus in adiutorium a otto, 1650
Dixit Dominus a otto, 1650

II
Andrea Falconiero
Battaglia de Barabasso yerno de Satanas
Maria Chiara Cozzolani 
Beatus Vir in forma di Dialogo

III
Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina 
Regina Coeli
Anonyme
Passaccalli della vita
Claudio Monterverdi 
Ave Maris stella 1610

IV
Claudio Monteverdi 
Si dolce è ‘l tormento 1603
Maria Chiara Cozzolani 
Magnificat primo a otto, 1650

 

Biographies

ENSEMBLE VOCAL ARTS-QUÉBEC

Ensemble vocal Arts-Québec is a professional choir apart of the great tradition of choral singing in Quebec. After being directed for almost 40 years by its founder Yves Courville, the choir has appointed Matthias Maute as its new artistic director. Since its creation, the Ensemble vocal Arts-Québec has drawn on the repertoire of great masterpieces for voice and orchestra. Following the success of the performances of the oratorio The Triumph of Time and Truth by Händel, the choir was chosen to take part in the celebration of the 30th anniversary of the Ensemble Caprice with the Mass in B by J. S. Bach at the Bourgie Hall. Since 2018 and as part of numerous collaborations with Ensemble Caprice, the choir has given concerts in Quebec in Saint-Jérôme, Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu and Terrebonne, as well as in Westmount and Montreal. During one of its tours, the choir presented the famous oratorio Messiah by Händel in several regions of Quebec.

 

Soprano
Ariadne Lih
Janelle Lucyk
Denise Torre
Dorothéa Ventura

Alto
Alexandra Asher
Ghislaine Deschambault
Josée Lalonde
Marie-Andrée Mathieu

Conductor

Matthias Maute

 

ENSEMBLE CAPRICE

Founded by flutist Matthias Maute, Ensemble Caprice is a baroque formation playing period instruments and recognized for the innovative and audacious spirit it instills in the repertoire. In addition to its series of concerts in Montreal, the group performs several tours each year: a remarkable influence, with dozens of concerts given in Quebec, Canada, the United States, Europe and Asia. He is regularly invited to prestigious festivals across Europe. In the United States, the group plays at the Frick Collection (New York), at the Boston Early Music Festival and at the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C. An impressive track record that places Caprice among one of the most important current Baroque ensembles . The recording activities of the Ensemble Caprice are just as flourishing, with around twenty records (winners of numerous awards) released by Analekta, ATMA Classique and Antes, distributed in around fifty countries.

Violin
Lucie Ringuette
Mélanie de Bonville

Cello
Susie Napper

Double bass 
Reuven Rothman

Recorder
Sophie Larivière
Vincent Lauzer

Theorbo
David Jacques

Hapsichord 
Mylène Bélanger

MATTHIAS MAUTE, CONDUCTOR 

Matthias Maute has earned a solid national and international reputation as a conductor, choirmaster and composer as well as one of the best performers of his generation, both on the recorder and the transverse flute. For several years, Mr. Maute has devoted a large part of his work to conducting choirs and orchestras, notably with the Ensemble Caprice (which he co-founded with his wife, Sophie Larivière). Matthias’ compositions occupy an important place in the world of contemporary music for recorder while his discography includes more than twenty remarkable recordings. He also teaches at the University of Montreal and at McGill University in Montreal. Matthias Maute, who won a Juno Award for his recording with choir Vivaldi and his Angels, has acquired an enviable reputation for the excellence of his work as artistic director of Ensemble Caprice, from the Bach Society of Minnesota in the United States -Unis, and the Concerts noncerto series, as well as co-artistic director of the Montreal Baroque Festival.

 

 


Thank you to all our sponsors 

PUBLIC PARTNERS

 
Conseil des arts de Montréal
Arrondissement Lachine
Enrico Ciccone, député de Marquette
Bingo Lachine
 

SEASON SPONSORS – GOLD

 
Collégial international Sainte-Anne
Desjardins Caisse de Lachine
Spinelli
 


SEASON SPONSORS – SILVER

 
Piano Vertu
Fondation Azrieli – Azrieli Foundation
Atelier lyrique de l’Opéra de Montréal
Fondation JM Canada
PME MTL West-Island
 

SEASON SPONSORS – BRONZE 

 
CabinetDentaire.ca
Cognitive Group
Smash Marketing & Communications
 

CONCERT SPONSORS 

 
MLV Immobilier
Jean Coutu Aboud Georges
Rona Lachine
J.J. Cardinal Lachine
IGA Extra Vallée
Martin & Cie, comptables professionnels agréés
Centre visuel Victoria

Ensemble Caprice et l’Ensemble vocal Arts-Québec

Détails de l'événement

  • 8 juillet 2022
  • 19:30
  • Église St-Anges 1400 Bd Saint-Joseph Lachine, QC H8S 2M8
  • Entrée gratuite (aucun billet requis) | Don suggéré : 10$

Un fabuleux concert choral de chefs d’œuvres de Monteverdi, Carissimi et Chiara Margarita Cozzolani.  

Ce concert est présenté à l’église Saints-Anges

  • Aucun billet requis pour ce concert à l’église
  • Don suggéré : 10$ Faire un don

Présentateurs

  • Causerie: Spinelli
  • Concert: Spinelli

 

Programme

I
Mariea Chiara Cozzolani
Deus in adiutorium a otto, 1650
Dixit Dominus a otto, 1650

II
Andrea Falconiero
Battaglia de Barabasso yerno de Satanas
Maria Chiara Cozzolani 
Beatus Vir in forma di Dialogo

III
Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina 
Regina Coeli
Anonyme
Passaccalli della vita
Claudio Monterverdi 
Ave Maris stella 1610

IV
Claudio Monteverdi 
Si dolce è ‘l tormento 1603
Maria Chiara Cozzolani 
Magnificat primo a otto, 1650

 

Biographies

ENSEMBLE VOCAL ARTS-QUÉBEC

L’Ensemble vocal Arts-Québec est un chœur professionnel dans la grande tradition du chant choral au Québec. Après avoir été dirigé pendant presque 40 ans par son fondateur Yves Courville, le chœur a nommé Matthias Maute comme son nouveau directeur artistique. Depuis ses débuts, l’Ensemble vocal Arts-Québec puise dans le répertoire des grands chefs-d’œuvre pour voix et orchestre. Suite aux succès des représentations de l’oratorio The Triumph of Time and Truth de Händel, le chœur a été choisi pour prendre part à la célébration du 30e anniversaire de l’Ensemble Caprice avec la Messe en Si de J. S. Bach à la salle Bourgie. Depuis 2018, et dans le cadre de nombreuses collaborations avec l’Ensemble Caprice, le chœur a donné des concerts au Québec à Saint-Jérôme, à Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu et à Terrebonne, ainsi qu’à Westmount et à Montréal. Durant une de ses tournées, le chœur a présenté le célèbre oratorio Le Messie de Händel dans plusieurs régions du Québec.

 

Soprano
Ariadne Lih
Janelle Lucyk
Denise Torre
Dorothéa Ventura

Alto
Alexandra Asher
Ghislaine Deschambault
Josée Lalonde
Marie-Andrée Mathieu

Chef

Matthias Maute

 

L’ENSEMBLE CAPRICE

Fondé par le flûtiste Matthias Maute, l’Ensemble Caprice est une formation baroque jouant sur instruments d’époque et reconnue pour l’esprit novateur et audacieux qu’il insuffle au répertoire. En plus de sa série de concerts à Montréal, le groupe effectue chaque année plusieurs tournées : un rayonnement remarquable, avec des dizaines de concerts donnés au Québec, au Canada, aux États-Unis, en Europe et en Asie. On le retrouve régulièrement invité de prestigieux festivals à travers l’Europe. Aux États-Unis, le groupe joue à la Frick Collection (New York), au Boston Early Music Festival et à la Library of Congress de Washington, D.C. Une impressionnante feuille de route qui place Caprice parmi l’un des plus importants ensembles baroques actuels. Les activités discographiques de l’Ensemble Caprice sont tout aussi florissantes, avec une vingtaine de disques (gagnants de nombreux prix) parus chez Analekta, ATMA Classique et Antes, distribués dans une cinquantaine de pays.

Violon
Lucie Ringuette
Mélanie de Bonville

Violoncello
Susie Napper

Double bass 
Reuven Rothman

Recorder
Sophie Larivière
Vincent Lauzer

Théorbe
David Jacques

Clavecin
Mylène Bélanger

MATTHIAS MAUTE, CHEF 

Matthias Maute s’est taillé une solide réputation nationale et internationale tant à titre de chef d’orchestre, de chef de chœur et de compositeur qu’en tant qu’un des meilleurs interprètes de sa génération, à la fois à la flûte à bec et à la flûte traversière. M. Maute consacre depuis quelques années une grande partie de son travail à la direction de chœur et d’orchestre, notamment avec l’Ensemble Caprice (qu’il a cofondé avec son épouse, Sophie Larivière). Les compositions de Matthias occupent une place importante dans le monde de la musique contemporaine pour flûte à bec tandis que sa discographie compte plus d’une vingtaine d’enregistrements remarquables. Il enseigne aussi à l’Université de Montréal et à l’Université McGill à Montréal. Matthias Maute, qui est récipiendaire d’un Prix Juno pour son enregistrement avec chœur Vivaldi et ses Anges, a acquis une réputation enviable pour l’excellence de son travail comme directeur artistique de l’Ensemble Caprice, de la Bach Society of Minnesota aux États-Unis, et de la série des Concerts noncerto, ainsi que comme codirecteur artistique du Festival Montréal Baroque.

 


Merci à tous nos commanditaires

Subventions

 
Conseil des arts de Montréal
Arrondissement Lachine
Enrico Ciccone, député de Marquette
Bingo Lachine
 

Commanditaires de saison or

 
Collégial international Sainte-Anne
Desjardins Caisse de Lachine
Spinelli
 


Commanditaires de saison argent

 
Piano Vertu
Fondation Azrieli – Azrieli Foundation
Atelier lyrique de l’Opéra de Montréal
Fondation JM Canada
PME MTL West-Island
 

Commanditaires de saison bronze

 
CabinetDentaire.ca
Cognitive Group
Smash Marketing & Communications
 

Commanditaires de concert

 
MLV Immobilier
Jean Coutu Aboud Georges
Rona Lachine
J.J. Cardinal Lachine
IGA Extra Vallée
Martin & Cie, comptables professionnels agréés
Centre visuel Victoria