Cameron Crozman and Charles Richard-Hamelin

Event details

  • 16 July 2022
  • 19:30
  • L’Entrepôt 2901 Bd Saint-Joseph Lachine, QC H8S 4B7
  • Free admission (ticket required) | Suggested donation: 10$

Cameron Crozman, cello and Charles Richard-Hamelin, piano. Two internationally renowned Québec musicians offer you performances of masterpieces by Chopin, Franck and Britten.

This concert is presented in person.

  • A ticket (free) is required to access the concert
  • Suggested donation : 10$ – Make a donation 
  • Tickets available online right now
  • Tickets also available at the door before each concert (60+ tickets)

Presented by

  • Talk: CabinetDentaire.ca
  • Concert: CabinetDentaire.ca

 

TICKETS

Program

Cello Suite, No. 3, opus 87
Introduzione: Lento
– Marcia: Allegro
– Canto: Con Moto
– Barcarolla: Lento
– Dialogo: Allegretto
– Fuga: Andante espressivo
– Recitativo: Fantastico
– Moto perpetuo: Presto
– Passacaglia: Lento solenne

Benjamin Britten
(1913 – 1976)

Prélude, Aria, et Final, pour piano, FWV 23 (1886)    

 

INTERMISSION

 

César Franck 
(1822-1890)

Sonate pour violoncelle et piano
en sol mineur, opus 65

Allegro moderato in G minor
– Scherzo in D minor, Trio in D major
– Largo in B-flat major
– Finale. Allegro in G minor, ending in G major
Frédéric Chopin
(1810 – 1849)

 

Biographies

CAMERON CROZMAN

A cellist endowed with “a rich imagination and a quick wit” (Diapason), Cameron Crozman established himself as one of Canada’s rising stars. Named “Classic Revelation” 2019-20 by Radio-Canada, he regularly performs in North America and Europe, both in large halls including the Philharmonie de Paris or the National Arts Center in Canada and in places unusual like the “Qidi Vidi” brasserie in Saint-John’s. Playing as a soloist with the great Canadian orchestras, he also shares the stage with eminent musicians, including James Ehnes, Augustin Hadelich, André Laplante and James Campbell.

After studying with Paul Pulford in Canada, Cameron perfected his skills at the Paris Conservatory in the class of Michel Strauss and Guillaume Paoletti, where he obtained his Cello Prize with the congratulations of the jury. He continued his studies at the Conservatory and obtained a chamber music prize (class of Claire Désert and Ami Flammer) and he was also a laureate of the Class of Excellence 2016-17 of Gautier Capuçon at the Louis Vuitton Foundation.

Fully committed to music innovation, Cameron constantly imagines new ways to share his art with the world. He undertakes artistic direction projects by setting up new chamber music festivals in the Okanagan Valley in British Columbia and in Lliria in Spain (a UNESCO city of music). Holding an Artist-Performer Diploma in creation and contemporary repertoire, he creates many pieces dedicated to him and commissions new pieces from Canadian composers including Allan Gordon Bell, Kelly-Marie Murphy, Alexina Louie and Liam Ritz. He is also passionate about teaching and offers master classes at the Rainier III Academy in Monaco, the Mount Royal University Conservatory in Calgary and the Victoria Conservatory among others.

Cameron recorded albums on the critically acclaimed ATMA Classique and Printemps des Arts de Monte-Carlo labels and was heard regularly on CBC/Radio-Canada and Radio-France. His first album Cavatine is recorded with the Stradivarius cello “Bonjour” built c. 1696 and is followed by a disc of the Suites de Britten launched in Monaco in the presence of the Princess of Hanover. His latest release, Tapeo, presents a varied program of short pieces inspired by Spain evoking an evening of “musical tapas”. His performances have also been recorded and broadcast by Medici.tv and Radio Classique.

Cameron is very grateful to the Canada Council for the Arts, the Sylva Gelber Foundation and CBC/Radio-Canada for their support of his various projects. He currently plays on the Spanish cello “El Tiburon” from ca. 1769, attributed to Joannes Guillami of Barcelona, ​​generously loaned by the Instrument Bank of the Canada Council for the Arts.

CHARLES RICHARD-HAMELIN

Winner of the silver medal and the Krystian Zimerman Prize at the Frederic Chopin International Piano Competition in Warsaw in 2015, Canadian pianist Charles Richard-Hamelin stands out today as one of the most important artists of his generation. He also made a name for himself internationally in 2014 by receiving the second prize at the Concours musical international de Montréal and third prize at the Seoul International Music Competition. Charles Richard-Hamelin was the recipient of the Ordre des arts et des lettres du Québec and the prestigious Career Development Award offered by the Women’s Musical Club of Toronto.

He has been invited to several major festivals such as La Roque d’Anthéron in France, the Prague Spring Festival, the “Chopin and his Europe” Festival in Warsaw and the Lanaudière Festival. As a soloist, he has been heard with over fifty ensembles including the major Canadian symphony orchestras (Montreal, Toronto, Ottawa, Metropolitan, Quebec, Edmonton, Calgary…) as well as with the Warsaw Philharmonic Orchestra, Sinfonia Varsovia, Tokyo Metropolitan Symphony Orchestra, Singapore Symphony Orchestra, Korean Symphony Orchestra, OFUNAM (Mexico), Les Violons du Roy and I Musici de Montréal. He has collaborated with renowned conductors such as Kent Nagano, Antoni Wit, Vasily Petrenko, Jacek Kaspszyk, Aziz Shokhakimov, Peter Oundjian, Jacques Lacombe, Fabien Gabel, Carlo Rizzi, Alexander Prior, Giancarlo Guerrero, Christoph Campestrini, Lan Shui and Jean -Marie Zeitouni. A graduate of McGill University, the Yale School of Music and the Conservatoire de musique de Montréal, he studied with Paul Surdulescu, Sara Laimon, Boris Berman, André Laplante and Jean Saulnier.

On record, Charles Richard-Hamelin has released almost ten albums, all released on the Analekta label. In 2015, he first recorded remarkable interpretations of Chopin’s late works. Launched in 2016, his second album brought together works by Beethoven, Enescu and Chopin, recorded in concert at the Palais Montcalm in Quebec. His discography was then enriched with three albums, one devoted to the first part of the complete sonata for violin and piano by Beethoven, recorded with the concertmaster of the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, Andrew Wan, the second taken from the concert recording of the two concertos for piano and orchestra by Chopin, with the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal under the direction of Kent Nagano and the third, the complete Ballads and Impromptus by Chopin. His recent collaboration with Les Violons du Roy led to the publication of a Mozart album (piano concertos no. 22 and 24) under the direction of Jonathan Cohen. These albums have received awards and enthusiastic reviews from leading music critics.

More recently appeared the second volume of his complete sonatas for violin and piano by Beethoven with Andrew Wan, as well as a new Chopin recital, presenting the 24 Preludes, the Andante spianato and the Great Polonaise Brillante, Op. 22.

 

 

Thank you to all our sponsors 

PUBLIC PARTNERS

 
Conseil des arts de Montréal
Arrondissement Lachine
Enrico Ciccone, député de Marquette
Bingo Lachine
 

SEASON SPONSORS – GOLD

 
Collégial international Sainte-Anne
Desjardins Caisse de Lachine
Spinelli
 
 

SEASON SPONSORS – SILVER

 
Piano Vertu
Fondation Azrieli – Azrieli Foundation
Atelier lyrique de l’Opéra de Montréal
Fondation JM Canada
PME MTL West-Island
 

SEASON SPONSORS – BRONZE 

 
CabinetDentaire.ca
Cognitive Group
Smash Marketing & Communications
 

CONCERT SPONSORS 

 
MLV Immobilier
Jean Coutu Aboud Georges
Rona Lachine
J.J. Cardinal Lachine
IGA Extra Vallée
Martin & Cie, comptables professionnels agréés
Centre visuel Victoria

Cameron Crozman et Charles Richard-Hamelin

Détails de l'événement

  • 16 juillet 2022
  • 19:30
  • L’Entrepôt 2901 Bd Saint-Joseph Lachine, QC H8S 4B7
  • Entrée gratuite (billet requis) | Don suggéré : 10$

Cameron Crozman, violoncelle et Charles Richard-Hamelin, piano. Deux grands interprètes québécois de renommée internationale vous offrent des chefs d’œuvres de Chopin, Franck et Britten. Ce concert est présenté en salle.

  • Un billet (gratuit) est obligatoire pour accéder au concert
  • Don suggéré : 10$
  • Billets disponibles en ligne dès maintenant
  • Billets aussi disponibles à la porte 1h00 avant chaque concert (60 billets et +)

Présentateurs

  • Causerie: CabinetDentaire.ca
  • Concert: CabinetDentaire.ca

 

OBTENIR DES BILLETS

Programme

Cello Suite, No. 3, opus 87
Introduzione: Lento
– Marcia: Allegro
– Canto: Con Moto
– Barcarolla: Lento
– Dialogo: Allegretto
– Fuga: Andante espressivo
– Recitativo: Fantastico
– Moto perpetuo: Presto
– Passacaglia: Lento solenne

Benjamin Britten
(1913 – 1976)

Prélude, Aria, et Final, pour piano, FWV 23 (1886)    

 

ENTRACTE

César Franck 
(1822-1890)

Sonate pour violoncelle et piano
en sol mineur, opus 65

Allegro moderato in G minor
– Scherzo in D minor, Trio in D major
– Largo in B-flat major
– Finale. Allegro in G minor, ending in G major
Frédéric Chopin
(1810 – 1849)

 

Biographies

CAMERON CROZMAN

Violoncelliste doté « d’une riche imagination et d’un esprit vif » (Diapason), Cameron Crozman s’établit comme l’une des étoiles montantes du Canada. Nommé “Révélation Classique” 2019-20 de Radio-Canada, il se produit régulièrement en Amérique du Nord et en Europe, aussi bien dans de grandes salles dont la Philharmonie de Paris ou le Centre national des Art du Canada qu’en des lieux insolites comme la brasserie “Qidi Vidi” à Saint-John’s. Jouant en soliste avec les grands orchestres canadiens, il partage également la scène avec d’éminents musiciens, dont James Ehnes, Augustin Hadelich, André Laplante et James Campbell.

Après des études avec Paul Pulford au Canada, Cameron se perfectionne au Conservatoire de Paris dans la classe de Michel Strauss et Guillaume Paoletti, où il obtient son Prix de Violoncelle avec les félicitations du jury. Il poursuit ses études au Conservatoire et obtient un prix de musique de chambre (classe de Claire Désert et Ami Flammer) et il est également lauréat de la Classe d’Excellence 2016-17 de Gautier Capuçon à la Fondation Louis Vuitton.

Pleinement engagé dans l’innovation de la musique, Cameron imagine constamment de nouvelles façons de partager son art avec le monde. Il entreprend des projets de direction artistique en montant de nouveaux festivals de musique de chambre dans la Vallée de l’Okanagan en Colombie-Britannique et à Lliria en Espagne (une ville UNESCO de la musique). Détenant un Diplôme d’Artiste-Interprète en création et répertoire contemporain, il crée de nombreuses pièces qui lui sont dédiées et commande de nouvelles pièces à des compositeurs canadiens dont Allan Gordon Bell, Kelly-Marie Murphy, Alexina Louie et Liam Ritz. Il est également passionné par l’enseignement et offre des classes de maître à l’Académie Rainier III à Monaco, au Mount Royal University Conservatory à Calgary et au Victoria Conservatory entre autres.

Cameron enregistre des albums sous les étiquettes ATMA Classique et Printemps des Arts de Monte-Carlo qui connaissent un succès critique et il se fait entendre régulièrement sur les ondes de CBC/Radio-Canada et Radio-France. Son premier album Cavatine est enregistré avec le violoncelle Stradivarius « Bonjour » de v. 1696 et est suivi par un disque des Suites de Britten lancé à Monaco en présence de la Princesse de Hanovre. Sa dernière parution, Tapeo, présente un programme varié de courtes pièces inspiré par l’Espagne évoquant une soirée de « tapas musicale ». Ses prestations ont également été captées et diffusées par Medici.tv et Radio Classique.

Cameron est très reconnaissant envers le Conseil des arts du Canada, la fondation Sylva Gelber et CBC/Radio-Canada pour leur soutien à l’égard de ses divers projets. Il joue présentement sur le violoncelle espagnol “El Tiburon” de ca. 1769, attribué à Joannes Guillami de Barcelone, généreusement prêté par la Banque d’instrument du Conseil des arts du Canada.

CHARLES RICHARD-HAMELIN

Lauréat de la médaille d’argent et du prix Krystian Zimerman lors du Concours international de piano Frédéric-Chopin à Varsovie en 2015, le pianiste canadien Charles Richard-Hamelin se démarque aujourd’hui comme l’un des plus importants de sa génération. Il s’est aussi fait remarquer à l’échelle internationale en 2014 en recevant le deuxième prix au Concours musical international de Montréal ainsi que le troisième prix au Seoul International Music Competition. Charles Richard-Hamelin a été récipiendaire de l’Ordre des arts et des lettres du Québec et du prestigieux Career Development Award offert par le Women’s Musical Club of Toronto.

Il a été l’invité de plusieurs grands festivals tels La Roque d’Anthéron en France, le Festival du Printemps de Prague, le Festival « Chopin et son Europe » à Varsovie et le Festival de Lanaudière. En tant que soliste, il a pu se faire entendre avec une cinquantaine d’ensembles dont les principaux orchestres symphoniques canadiens (Montréal, Toronto, Ottawa, Métropolitain, Québec, Edmonton, Calgary…) ainsi qu’avec l’Orchestre philharmonique de Varsovie, Sinfonia Varsovia, le Tokyo Metropolitan Symphony Orchestra, l’Orchestre symphonique de Singapour, le Korean Symphony Orchestra, l’OFUNAM (Mexique), Les Violons du Roy et I Musici de Montréal. Il a collaboré avec des chefs de grande renommée comme Kent Nagano, Antoni Wit, Vasily Petrenko, Jacek Kaspszyk, Aziz Shokhakimov, Peter Oundjian, Jacques Lacombe, Fabien Gabel, Carlo Rizzi, Alexander Prior, Giancarlo Guerrero, Christoph Campestrini, Lan Shui et Jean-Marie Zeitouni. Diplômé de l’Université McGill, de la Yale School of Music et du Conservatoire de musique de Montréal, il a étudié auprès de Paul Surdulescu, Sara Laimon, Boris Berman, André Laplante et Jean Saulnier.

Sur disque, on doit à Charles Richard-Hamelin huit albums, tous parus sous étiquette Analekta. Il a d’abord enregistré en 2015 des interprétations remarquées des dernières œuvres de Chopin. Lancé en 2016, son deuxième album rassemble des œuvres de Beethoven, Enescu et Chopin, enregistrées en concert au Palais Montcalm de Québec. Sa discographie s’est ensuite enrichie de trois albums, l’un consacré au premier volet d’une intégrale des sonates pour violon et piano de Beethoven, enregistré avec le violon solo de l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal Andrew Wan, le second tiré d’un enregistrement en concert des deux concertos pour piano et orchestre de Chopin, avec l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal sous la direction de Kent Nagano et le troisième, une intégrale des ballades et impromptus de Chopin. Sa plus récente collaboration avec Les Violons du Roy a mené à la parution d’un album Mozart (concertos pour piano no 22 et 24) sous la direction de Jonathan Cohen.
Ces albums ont reçu des prix et un accueil enthousiaste des plus grands critiques musicaux.

Plus récemment paraissaient le deuxième volume de son intégrale des sonates pour violon et piano de Beethoven avec Andrew Wan, ainsi qu’un nouveau récital Chopin, présentant les 24 Préludes, l’Andante spianato et la Grande polonaise brillante, op. 22.


Merci à tous nos commanditaires

Subventions

 
Conseil des arts de Montréal
Arrondissement Lachine
Enrico Ciccone, député de Marquette
Bingo Lachine
 

Commanditaires de saison or

 
Collégial international Sainte-Anne
Desjardins Caisse de Lachine
Spinelli
 


Commanditaires de saison argent

 
Piano Vertu
Fondation Azrieli – Azrieli Foundation
Atelier lyrique de l’Opéra de Montréal
Fondation JM Canada
PME MTL West-Island
 

Commanditaires de saison bronze

 
CabinetDentaire.ca
Cognitive Group
Smash Marketing & Communications
 

Commanditaires de concert

 
MLV Immobilier
Jean Coutu Aboud Georges
Rona Lachine
J.J. Cardinal Lachine
IGA Extra Vallée
Martin & Cie, comptables professionnels agréés
Centre visuel Victoria