Bryan Anderson, winner of the 2021 Canadian International Organ Competition (concert at Saints-Anges Church)

Photo de l'organiste

Event details

  • 27 March 2022
  • 15:00
  • Eglise Saints-Anges 1400, boul. Saint-Joseph Lachine (Qc) H8S 2M8
  • Entrée Libre | Don suggéré : 10$

Bryan Anderson is winner of the 2021 Canadian International Organ Competition.

This concert is presented at Saints-Anges Church in Lachine

Details

  • Arrive 10-15 minutes before the concert starts
  • Wear a mask
  • The size of the church allows social distancing

Presented in collaboration with CIOC


Biography

Bryan Anderson enjoys a versatile career as an organist, church musician, teacher, and musical collaborator. The Diapason, which named Bryan to its “20 under 30” Class of 2017, called him “brilliant, yet quiet and unassuming.” Classical Voice of North Carolina described his playing as “simply first class.”

In 2021, Bryan taking a 3rd prize and Robilliard prize at the Canadian International Organ Competition, and in 2019 winning the Firmin Swinnen Second Prize at the Longwood Gardens Organ Competition. He has also performed at national conventions of the American Guild of Organists and the Organ Historical Society. Recently he appeared on the album Pipedreams Premieres, vol. 3, performing music of Henry Martin alongside Isabelle Demers, Stephen Tharp, and Ken Cowan. Bryan has completed a number of original orchestral transcriptions, including works by Duruflé, Alkan, and Debussy, in recitals. In recent years Bryan has included varied appearances with the viols of Les Touches (as harpsichordist), with Houston Grand Opera, and with trumpeters Christopher Martin and Barbara Butler.

Bryan is currently employed as Director of Music at St. Thomas’ Episcopal Church and School in Houston, TX, oversees daily sung services within the K-12 school, and works as a classroom music teacher to elementary grades. Bryan also works as the Preparatory Choir Director for the Houston Childrens’ Chorus. He previously held positions at St. Paul’s United Methodist Church in Houston; Wells Cathedral in Somerset, England; and St. Mark’s Episcopal Church and Tenth Presbyterian Church, both in Philadelphia. He also served as an assistant organist at the Wanamaker Grand Court Organ.

Bryan received his Master’s Degree in organ performance from the Shepherd School of Music at Rice University in 2018, with Ken Cowan. At the Curtis Institute of Music, Bryan completed his Bachelor’s Degree in organ with Alan Morrison, and an Artist Diploma in harpsichord with Leon Schelhase.  Previous teachers were Jeannine Morrison, in piano, and Sarah Martin, in organ.


Program

Prélude et fugue en mi mineur, BWV 548

JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH
(1685 – 1750)

Miroir 

AD WAMMES
(1953 – )

Trois préludes Hambourgeois
Salamanca

GUY BOVET
(1942 – )

The Last Rose of Summer, op. 59

DUDLEY BUCK
(1839 – 1909)

Sunday Music
III. Moto Ostinato

PETR EBEN
(1929 – 2007)

Go Down Moses

FELA SOWANDE
(1905 – 1987)

Six Pieces
VI. Paean

HERBERT HOWELLS
(1892 – 1983)

Thank you to all our sponsors

Public partners

 
Conseil des arts de Montréal
Arrondissement Lachine
Enrico Ciccone, député de Marquette
Bingo Lachine
 

Season sponsors – Gold

 
Collégial international Sainte-Anne
Desjardins Caisse de Lachine
Spinelli
 

 

Season sponsors – Silver

 
Piano Vertu
Fondation Azrieli – Azrieli Foundation
Atelier lyrique de l’Opéra de Montréal
Fondation JM Canada
PME MTL West-Island
 

Season sponsors – Bronze

 
CabinetDentaire.ca
Cognitive Group
Smash Marketing & Communications
 

Concerts sponsors

 
MLV Immobilier
Jean Coutu Aboud Georges
Rona Lachine
J.J. Cardinal Lachine
IGA Extra Vallée
Martin & Cie, comptables professionnels agréés
Centre visuel Victoria

Bryan Anderson, lauréat du concours d’orgue du Canada (concert d’orgue à l’église Saints-Anges)

Photo de l'organiste

Détails de l'événement

  • 27 mars 2022
  • 15:00
  • Eglise Saints-Anges 1400, boul. Saint-Joseph Lachine (Qc) H8S 2M8
  • Entrée Libre | Don suggéré : 10$

Bryan Anderson est lauréat du concours d’orgue du Canada édition 2021.

Ce concert est présenté à l’église Saints-Anges de Lachine

Détails

  • Arrivez 10-15 minutes avant l’heure du concert
  • Portez un masque (10 ans et plus)
  • La capacité d’accueil de l’église permet la distanciation

Présenté en collaboration avec le CIOC

LOGO CIOC

 


Biographie

Bryan Anderson mène une carrière d’organiste, de musicien d’église, d’enseignant et de collaborateur musical. La revue Diapason l’a qualifié, dans sa promotion 2017, d’« éblouissant, mais calme et sans prétention ». Classical Voice of North Carolina a décrit son jeu comme « tout simplement de première classe ».

Bryan a remporté en 2021 un 3e prix et un prix Robilliard au Concours international d’orgue du Canada. En 2019, il remportait le deuxième prix Firmin Swinnen au Concours d’orgue de Longwood Gardens. Il s’est également produit lors des congrès nationaux de l’American Guild of Organists et de l’Organ Historical Society. Récemment, il est apparu sur l’album Pipedreams Premieres, vol. 3, interprétant la musique d’Henry Martin aux côtés d’Isabelle Demers, de Stephen Tharp et de Ken Cowan. Bryan a transcrit des œuvres orchestrales originales (Duruflé, Alkan et Debussy) qu’il a interprétées en récital. Il a aussi collaboré avec l’Ensemble les Touches (comme claveciniste), avec le Houston Grand Opera et les trompettistes Christopher Martin et Barbara Butler.

Bryan est actuellement directeur de la musique à l’église et à l’école épiscopale St. Thomas à Houston au Texas, supervise les services chantés quotidiens à l’école K-12 et travaille comme professeur de musique au primaire. Bryan est également directeur de la chorale préparatoire pour le Houston Childrens’ Chorus. Il a précédemment occupé des postes à l’église méthodiste unie St. Paul à Houston, à la cathédrale de Wells dans le Somerset en Angleterre ainsi qu’à l’église épiscopale Saint-Marc et à la dixième église presbytérienne, toutes deux à Philadelphie. Il a également été organiste assistant au Wanamaker Grand Court Organ.

Bryan a obtenu sa maîtrise en interprétation d’orgue de la Shepherd School of Music de l’Université Rice en 2018 avec Ken Cowan. Il a aussi obtenu un baccalauréat en orgue au Curtis Institute of Music avec Alan Morrison et un diplôme d’artiste en clavecin avec Leon Schelhase. Il a également été l’élève de Jeannine Morrison (piano) et de Sarah Martin (orgue).


Programme

Prélude et fugue en mi mineur, BWV 548

JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH
(1685 – 1750)

Miroir 

AD WAMMES
(1953 – )

Trois préludes Hambourgeois
Salamanca

GUY BOVET
(1942 – )

The Last Rose of Summer, op. 59

DUDLEY BUCK
(1839 – 1909)

Sunday Music
III. Moto Ostinato

PETR EBEN
(1929 – 2007)

Go Down Moses

FELA SOWANDE
(1905 – 1987)

Six Pieces
VI. Paean

HERBERT HOWELLS
(1892 – 1983)

Merci à tous nos commanditaires

Subventions

 
Arrondissement Lachine
Ville de Montréal
Conseil des arts de Montréal
PME MTL West-Island
Enrico Ciccone, député de Marquette
Bingo Lachine
 

Commanditaires de saison or

 
Fondation Azrieli – Azrieli Foundation
Collégial international Sainte-Anne
Desjardins Caisse de Lachine
Spinelli
 

Commanditaires de saison argent

 
Piano Vertu
Fondation JM Canada
 

Commanditaires de saison bronze

 
Atelier lyrique de l’Opéra de Montréal
CabinetDentaire.ca
Cognitive Group
 

Commanditaires de concert

 
Beauchamp Laplante – Cabinet de services financiers
MLV Immobilier
Jean Coutu Aboud Georges
J.J. Cardinal Lachine
Martin & Cie, comptables professionnels agréés
IGA Extra Vallée
Centre visuel Victoria